You can share your EndNote library, including pdfs and annotations, with other EndNote users, providing they are using EndNote X7 or later. Everyone you share the library with can add to, annotate and use the library at the same time, including adding attachments and deleting references, unless you only give them read only access. People sharing the library cannot change the name of the library, share it with others or make a backup copy of the library.
An activity feed shows who is making changes to references and groups for each library. If someone deletes a reference from the shared library, it is not recoverable.
If you are the one who has shared the library, you have access to this library on your desktop, online or on your iPad. if you have been invited to access someone else's library, you can only access this library from your desktop.
For more detailed instructions: click each of the headings near the top of this page, starting with 'Collect/Create References'.
The recommended way of backing up your EndNote library is to create a compressed library file that includes both the EndNote library and its corresponding data file.