Library: WRDS information and help: Home

How to access WRDS

You must register before you can use it. Please note that the database is not available to undergraduates.

Use this form to request an individual account.
When completing the form choose 'University of Bath'.
After clicking 'Register', a notification will be sent to the designated School of Management academics who will approve your account.
Once approved, you will receive an email allowing you to set up your password.

List of subscribed WRDS databases

Audit Analytics
The Audit Analytics database contains information from the filings of the universe of US SEC registrants back to fiscal year 2000. The data includes analysis of audit, compliance, legal and governance issues.
BoardEx
Contains the biographical profiles of over 670,000 business leaders globally and tracks more than 17,000 organisations on a daily basis. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
Compustat and Execucomp
Provides highly standardised, historical fundamental and professionals data. Access deep history with snapshot dates from December 1986, with quarterly fundamental history back to 1978 and annual fundamental history back to 1970. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.

Video: Compustat in WRDS - single company search (04:05)

CRSP
Contains historical research data for US stocks, indexes, treasuries, mutual funds and REITs. US stock price data from 1925 onwards. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
CSMAR
GTA CSMAR is a comprehensive database of China stock returns, covering all companies listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange and the Shenzhen Stock exchange. Access data on the China stock markets and the financial statements of China's listed companies. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
CUSIP
Provides 9-character CUSIP numbers, standardised descriptions and additional data attributes for more than 6 million corporate, municipal and government securities offered in the United States and Canada. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
Daily TAQ
Daily TAQ (Trade and Quote) provides access to trades and quotes for all issues traded on NYSE, Nasdaq and the regional exchanges for the previous trading day. Daily data available from 01 Apr 2018 – onwards and back history coverage from 01 Jan 2013 to 31 Mar 2018. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
LSPD
The London Share Price Database is a comprehensive database of UK stock returns covering over 9,000 UK shares from 1955 to date. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
It provides a record of total returns to investors, incorporating dividends and capital changes, and includes live and dead companies. LSPD can be accessed as a monthly database, or as the full LSPD including daily prices and returns.
Markit
Provides information on loans, corporate, and sovereign debt across Europe, Asia, North America and Emerging Markets. Markit CDS pricing data covers approximately 3,000 individual entities. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
Mergent FISD
FISD Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database (FISD) is a comprehensive resource of publicly offered U.S. bonds. FISD contains issue details on over 140,000 corporate, corporate MTN (medium term note), supranational, U.S. Agency, and U.S. Treasury debt securities and includes more than 550 data items. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
FISD provides details on debt issues and the issuers, as well as transactions by insurance companies. It is used to research market trends, deal structures, issuer capital structures and other areas of fixed income debt research.
MFLINKS
The MFLINKS tables provide a reliable means to link CRSP Mutual Fund (MFDB) data to equity holdings data in the Thomson Reuters Mutual Fund Ownership data. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
OptionMetrics: IvyDB US & IvyDB Europe
IvyDB US is a comprehensive database of historical option price, underlying security information, implied volatility, and sensitivity information for the entire US listed and equity options markets from 1996 to date.
IvyDB Europe is a comprehensive database of historical price, implied volatility, and sensitivity information for the European listed index and equity options markets. These are both part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.
Thomson Reuters' LPC DealScan
Dealscan provides information on the global commercial loan market: loan pricing and contracts details, terms, and conditions. It also provides contract information for high yield bonds, private placements and hybrid financial structures. Part of WRDS - see the entry for WRDS.

WRDS help

Datasets (non-subscribed): to view a full list of available datasets in WRDS, log in and select ‘get data’. Then, select ‘all your subscriptions’ or go directly to the subscriptions page. Selecting one of the databases will allow you to access 'overview documents' and accompanying manuals.

Guides: Once you are logged in, under the 'support' tab you will find WRDS guides, manuals and overviews; for example: how to run a web query.

Videos from WRDS:

Video demonstration from the Library:

Video: Compustat in WRDS - single company search (04:05)

This short video provides a demonstration of a simple search using the WRDS query form. The query form is the same across all the databases accessible in WRDS. The database in the video is Compustat.

WRDS information and help: Home

What is WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)

How to access WRDS

List of subscribed WRDS databases

WRDS help